Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn.

Conversation in the previous post has turned to the phenomena of the alpha widow. As mentioned there, the idea was full evident truth even not very long ago, but now is “red pill truth” due to the efforts of the feminists, indoctrinating women that they need men like fish need bicycles. Previously, I quoted a portion of the Godfather book (1969) which illustrates this truth perfectly.

A delicate flower like that is not meant for work!
A delicate flower like that is not meant for work!

Most of us know this term in terms of sexuality, but it can apply to anything in the heart of a woman. It’s in that vein that the overly long-winded (honestly I don’t get why is so highly esteemed) Gone With The Wind (1939) was brought up. It has a number of glaring examples of traditional feminism, mainly the idea that women just aren’t fit to work.

This aside, a whole thread in the plot of this movie makes it great for a Red Pill Movie Review. To get up to speed on the final scene’s payoff, Scarlett O’Hara meets a man by the name of Ashley Wilkes about a third of the way through, and gets taken with him. He won’t have her, but she gets stuck on him in her heart to the point that she won’t let him go through multiple marriages (including to Rhett). Mr. Wilkes eventually marries a woman named Melanie Hamilton (referred to as Mellie), who dies in the previous scene. Let’s pick upon the final scene:

RHETT Come in.
SCARLETT Rhett!

RHETT Melanie, she’s…well. God rest her. She was the only completely kind person I ever knew. Great lady. A very great lady. Though she’s dead. That makes it nice for you, doesn’t it?
SCARLETT Oh, how can you say such things. You know how I loved her really.
RHETT No, I don’t know that I do. But at least it’s to your credit that you could appreciate her at the end.
SCARLETT Of course I appreciated her. She thought of everybody except herself. Why her last words were about you.
RHETT What did she say?
SCARLETT She said, be kind to Captain Butler, he loves you so.
RHETT Did she say anything else?
SCARLETT She said, she asked me to look after Ashley too.

RHETT It’s convenient to have the first wife’s permission, isn’t it?
SCARLETT What do you mean? What are you doing?
RHETT I’m leaving you, my dear. All you need now is a divorce and your dreams of Ashley can come true.
SCARLETT No! No, you’re wrong! Terribly wrong! I don’t want a divorce. Oh Rhett, when I knew tonight, when I knew I loved you, I ran home to tell you, oh darling, darling!
RHETT Please don’t go on with this. Leave us some dignity to remember out of our marriage. Spare us this last.
SCARLETT This last? Oh Rhett, do listen to me. I must have loved you for years only I was such a stupid fool I didn’t know it. Please believe me. You must care! Mellie said you did!
RHETT I believe you. But what about Ashley Wilkes?
SCARLETT I……I never really loved Ashley.

RHETT You certainly gave a good imitation of it up to this morning. Oh, Scarlett, I tried everything. If you’d only met me halfway, even when I came back from London…
SCARLETT I was so glad to see you, I was Rhett, but, but you were so nasty!
RHETT And then when you were sick. And it was all my fault. I hoped and against hope that you’d call for me. But you didn’t.
SCARLETT I wanted you. I wanted you desperately, but I didn’t think you wanted me!

RHETT It seems we’ve been at crossed purposed, doesn’t it. But it’s no use now. As long as there was Bonnie there was a chance we might be happy. I like to think that Bonnie was you. A little girl again. Before the war and poverty had done things to you. She was so like you. And I could pet her and spoil her as I wanted to spoil you. But when she went, she took everything.
SCARLETT Oh, Rhett, Rhett, please don’t say that. I’m so sorry. I’m so sorry for everything.
RHETT My darling, you’re such a child. You think that by saying I’m sorry, all the past can be corrected. Here, take my handkerchief. Never in any crisis of your life have I known you to have a handkerchief.

SCARLETT Rhett, Rhett where are you going?
RHETT I’m going to Charleston. Back where I belong.
SCARLETT Please, please take me with you.
RHETT No. I’m through with everything here. I want peace. I want to see if somewhere if there is something left in life with charm and grace. Do you know what I’m talking about?
SCARLETT No. I only know that I love you.
RHETT That’s your misfortune.

SCARLETT Rhett! If you go, where shall I go? What shall I do?
RHETT Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.
SCARLETT I can’t let him go. I can’t. There must be some way to bring him back. Oh, I can’t think about that now. I’ll go crazy if I do, I…I’ll think about it tomorrow. I must think about it. I must think about it. What is there to do? What is there that matters?

See the red pill truth in this? Men hit a wall, too. When a man keeps encountering women who rather have career on their hearts, riding the carousel, other men, serving in ministry, or even Jesus, everything in their hearts but taking up wholeheartedly with a man and calling him her husband with her words, thoughts, and deeds, he’ll get frustrated and just move on. This is what Men Going Their Own Way represents. These women, who thought that they didn’t need men in their lives, finally realize that they do. And what will they find is the answer when they finally say “I only know that I love you” to these men?

10 thoughts on “Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn.”

  1. In the end, the only real thing that Scarlett O’Hara truly loved was the plantation (Tara)…this is illustrated in numerous ways all throughout the movie.

    Like

  2. I forgot all about that ending. And she was a real piece of work, wasn’t she? Men were just toys to her, who was in many ways a spoiled American princess.

    Like

  3. “See the red pill truth in this? Men hit a wall, too. When a man keeps encountering women who rather have career on their hearts, riding the carousel, other men, serving in ministry, or even Jesus, everything in their hearts but taking up wholeheartedly with a man and calling him her husband with her words, thoughts, and deeds, he’ll get frustrated and just move on. ”

    Some women doesn’t get this. Feminists in particular have blinded women to thinking they love the hardest when in reality they don’t. When a woman rejects her husband as bad as Scarlett did in the movies, most men would eventually count their loses and move on.

    Like

  4. I’ve never seen this movie, so I don’t have much to comment on. I just had a question about the section of the post that sonofdeathswriter commented on… when you said “….or even Jesus…”, you’re not saying a woman should consider a man, even her own man, as being more important than Jesus, are you? Because we should have Jesus as our #1, and our man as our #2. To do otherwise would be idolatry, not to mention unfair for the man (talk about added pressure on him!). I know I wouldn’t want to be a man’s #1. I would expect to be his #2, but could never be his #1.

    Like

  5. FBNF,

    We’ve already hit upon this a long time ago on this blog and many of the other blogs in manosphere. That’s a strawman argument and I’m pretty sure based on his other comments, he was not insinuating such a thing in the least. What people mean (at least from what I’ve read from others, ps – I’m not trying to put words in your mouth Ballista, just trying to defend your comment) is that women will often use Jesus as their excuse to not take marriage seriously when it comes to seeking out what they want. They become “busybodies” within the church, with the more subtle purpose of gaining glory and recognition for themselves through their acts of service. How do we know this? Because if they truly were about the Lord’s work, then they wouldn’t be using Him as an excuse when it came to marital issues, most especially when it came to seeking out godly men. And most often, many of those women want to be in a position of leadership via being in a quasi-pastoral role when it comes to heading specific ministries..which goes against Paul’s writings about not suffering a woman to teach. Thus, we can rather safely conclude that such acts of worship and service are not sincere because 1. they are used as convenient excuses to keep harking down the message that it is men that are not marriage minded and these women are just passing the time serving the Lord while the men get their act together and 2. they more often than not want to head ministries (which by its very nature is a teaching role) which goes against Paul’s writings to the Church of Acts against suffering a woman to teach. If a woman is serious about her role in exclusively serving God and doing so in a celibate role, than do so with full cheer…not griping about “where have all the good men gone” and “how men aren’t marriage minded anymore”. Plenty of us are, we just aren’t all that attractive based on whatever plebian standards of attraction most women are subscribing to nowadays.

    Like

  6. @ crimsonviceroy,

    Goodness, I wasn’t even talking about using service in the church as an excuse to not seek a husband. So no, that wasn’t a strawman question. And I haven’t been around the manosphere for long (found it this past winter), nor do I read many of the blogs, or even many of the previous posts that were written before I got here. So I haven’t heard this being talked about, as far as I can remember anyways. If I did, it doesn’t come to mind right now. I was just asking Ballista to clarify what he meant by that since it seemed like an odd thing to include in the list of things in that sentence, and it wasn’t clear to me. That’s it. Nothing else to read into my question to him. No snark or ill will intended in the question either, just seeking understanding of his meaning.

    Like

  7. FBNF,

    Then in all due respect, it might be best to make your reading and gleaning surpass your responding.

    Such a foundation will lead you into more understanding.

    Like

  8. “…you’re such a child. You think that by saying ‘I’m sorry’, all the past can be corrected.”

    THAT is the perfect response to all of these “women who regret feminism” and “women against feminism”. I have yet to hear of any of these women who “regret feminism” or are “not feminists” calling for the repeal of VAWA, “No – Fault” Divorce, Affirmative Action, or any of the other laws that advantage women at the cost of men. Until that time, I regard their protestations of “not being feminists” or being “against feminism” as nothing more than cheap theatrics on the order of false “rape” accusations.
    They want the advantages that feminism gives them without the stigma of being righteously called what they really are: FEMINISTS.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.