Your First Days As A Christian

Questions asked about your questions upon first becoming a Christian.

While I have some more work to do in organization before I can post more, I had a project put upon my heart by both my evaluation of the old blog and a couple of incidents that have happened here in person. While I haven’t gotten a formal post completed to replace the prior one, this post will lend a hint as to a direction I aim to take with this blog. Part of that seemed to lend to some good discussion, so I thought I would place this here. My hope is that it does…

Note that since I still have extremely limited time to tend to blog-related issues promptly, that I have set moderation on all comments. Those that know me from the old blog will know that (in the scope of this blog), I will allow just about anything as long as it’s not generally disruptive.


Think back to when you first became a Christian.

1. How prepared were you on the natural “What Now?” question after you opted to follow Christ?

2. Were there any questions you had that were largely unaddressed?

3. Were (are?) there any terms that you regularly heard in the course of a service/study/small group that were largely assumed or unaddressed as to their definitions?

8 thoughts on “Your First Days As A Christian”

  1. I started replying a couple time before I realized what you were really asking for πŸ™‚

    Tomorrow will be my first time attending mass, so I may have some specific questions afterwards. We are still unbaptized, but that may get remedied this year.

    I guess I do have a “what now” question in that certain elements of my old life are intolerable: the main one being my career in public education. We made the switch for my daughter in the new year to a private, Catholic school and she is doing very well. We have seen a lot of improvements. My husband already lives outside the realm of worldly influence, so I’m the last one still stuck in it not sure if I can get away.

    Like

  2. @Kate
    FWIW, I’m looking at doing some work describing a Biblical picture of what being a Christian is, which is where the questions are coming from (the edit detail of that “Welcome” post will get much more specific when I get the old SoP posts I had in edit ready).

    More or less, I want to see if I can put out a more complete direct picture than what I and most of the people I know got when they do accept Christ (often very little). The problem I have is in determining what topics need to be covered. I do not want to get too specific or too over-broad, and end up overwhelming someone that might not know or miss a giant thing that people really need to see. For example, I, as many others, have observed that often certain terms will be thrown about in services with the expectation that everyone knows and understands what they mean and often are never defined.

    Maybe some others might have something to offer, specifically,on what you posted. As for my thoughts, you can’t really “live outside the realm of worldly influence” and be a healthy participant in society, save completely isolating yourself. A phrase often gets used that one should be “in the world but not of the world”. More or less, the idea is that you learn God’s ways and then uphold them in your own life as you live it out. Part of that life turns into a tension as you deal with people that might lie, cheat, steal, whatever, and then have the temptation to either accept it or join in. Children are more vulnerable to picking up ways outside of God given this world, so outside of Godly parent’s influence, the private school wasn’t a bad idea. But the idea is that you reorder your life so you don’t chase after the dead-ends that the world provides and you chase after God alone. In other words, it’s more about removing the world from you than you removing yourself from the world.

    Like

  3. I wasn’t prepared for being discerning. I have always been a lone wolf. My wife says I am unique in that I don’t need anyone, which isn’t true. I need the Lord and others to talk to about how corrupt the christian church is. From well known leaders to your christian feminist wife.

    It is very hard to listen to sermons when you find out some of that teachers beliefs are so wrong. I tend to throw out baby with the bath water when it comes to pastors.

    When I got saved 15 years ago I didn’t know what reformed, Calvinism, New covenant etc meant. Still get dispensationalism wrong, but as a partial preterist I think dispensationalism is a belief in itself.

    I still drank and listened to metal music. I stopped struggling with fantasizing about hot women I came across, but instead admired their beauty.

    Hope that helped.

    Like

  4. @Jeff
    It helps tremendously. For such a proposed work, it gets hard to know exactly what needs to be covered – especially when there’s so much one could say. Above all, getting out there what addresses people’s concerns is what will make something like what I have in mind be of value.

    To go on, I’ll say that in some respects blogging has functioned as a community in terms of sharing those kinds of aspects. Most of where I got a lot of my early material was “this particular thing irks me about church or this guy’s sermon but I can’t articulate in a logical way as to why” – of course, (just about) everyone else is wholesale into those kinds of things (for example, the Personal Jesus), so you really can’t share and be heard.

    Of course, the challenge for growth was always to learn enough about the topic to see exactly what that is, what Scripture suggests as the corrective, and know where things stand. And in that process, sometimes I’ve been right, sometimes I’ve been wrong. One thing I will relay from experience (both here, and the resulting text, whenever it results) is that there’s often no formative effect to anything unless you get in with whatever Scripture is at hand and own it for yourself. I’ve always found the most growth comes from digging into answers to questions (personally or communally) more than it ever has from passively sitting in a service or Bible study.

    Thanks again.

    Like

  5. Thanks for your thoughts πŸ™‚

    All of that makes sense to me (except I don’t want to be a healthy participant in society!) lol I always liked this Emerson quote: β€œIt is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.” My own personal motto has been for a while now: “Always be ready to leave everything behind (to follow the Lord).”

    I am VERY excited for summer because I’m going to be taking a chastity education training class in order to be a certified presenter on the subject. Our Catholic schools are also going through a restructuring process where they’re being united under a superintendent. Everyone working there has to reapply for their job and I’m thinking that I will toss my own application in. It doesn’t hurt to try. After all, my first job offer was from a Catholic high school.

    I realize I’m not helping you with what you asked at all, but I will report back when I can πŸ™‚ I am sure to be confused by something soon!

    Like

  6. @Kate
    No problem. Actually, for most part, I’ve gotten a good idea of what needs to be included. There’s always possibility of ideas for more, so I’m always willing to listen anyway. Of course, there’s always delays between how long it takes me to write/edit things I have as candidates for blog posts, too – both old edits and new stuff (like one I want to do tomorrow, too pressing for me NOT to). Never enough time it seems when you add in things that are bigger priorities (money and dealing with my own pressing practical spiritual questions).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. If the money and the no consistent internet access are a related issue, I, and I’m sure others, would be happy to contribute a bit to make that possible πŸ™‚ One good turn deserves another!

    Like

  8. @Kate
    It’s definitely something to consider, though I hope nothing like that will become an issue. In any event, as I think on venues to present the book idea reflected in this post along with organizing posts from the old blog, I’m sure some monetary opportunities (by necessity) will present themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply (Note that due to my limited time to monitor this blog, all comments are moderated)

